Sláine the horned god

This has bee quite an interesting wee journey, I love the Character of Sláine and have been a fan of the comic since I was about eight or nine, so being able to paint this miniature at this point in my painting career was an awesome treat and challenge.
Over the last few weeks I have been watching a series of videos from Miniwargaming.com, and my skills and techniques have, in my opinion, improved vastly.
This was the first time I have used the wet blending method with Vallejo acrylic paint retarder, this method was used on the cloak and kilt (before detailing was added) other methods included dry-brushing and ink washes.
If you would, please notice the boil on his abdomen, it was a casting flaw I hadn’t noticed until I was doing the zenithal shading. Turning a flaw into a feature is one of those things you learn over time.
The one thing that made the biggest difference to my abilities was realising that when it comes to painting miniatures there is now wrong or right its just what you like and what works for you.
The only thing I’m not happy with is the way some of the tattoos turned out, free hand painting on detail is not my strong point.

Thanks for looking folks and I hope you like the results.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

1 Comment

Filed under Gaming

One response to “Sláine the horned god

  1. This looks so cool!! The detail in the little tattoos on him is amazing!! And I love how you’ve painted his cloak!! Something I absolutely cannot seem to do is paint cloaks. Eee, this looks so good.

Leave a Reply

